Paris in a day

This past week I spent with my Grandma, who came to visit me during my exchange in France. During her week here we had a tight schedule. We saw Paris, Lyon, Aurillac, Clermont-Ferrand, and Disneyland Paris. But for only spending one day in Paris we had to get as much done without being too rushed. In today’s post I wanted to share my mistakes, my favorites things I saw in Paris, and sights to miss if you have limited time.

Paris, the city of lights, or also known as a major tourist destination has over a thousand possible things to see and do. So, how can one spend a day in Paris? Well that’s just it, you can’t. Though I may have seen a lot while spending my one day in Paris, nothing compares to how much I would’ve seen if I would’ve spent three or more days there. So for everyone out there I recommend you spend as much time in Paris as you can if you really want to see a lot of the city. Without further ado, here’s my list I’ve gather for little tips and tricks for seeing Paris!

Taking the metro:

Yes, you can walk around Paris but, if you’re short on time then taking the metro is the best solution. While it is the best option, there are a few things to consider; for example, you need to know where you re going. My grandma and I stayed in a hotel near line 6 (Cambronne). Whenever we wanted to take the metro anywhere we had to know which direction to take it in, because there were two different ways; towards Nation or Charles de Gaulle étoile. After we knew what direction to take the metro the next step was figuring out where we changed lines. Here’s a good example: when we went to Montmatre we first took line 6 in the direction of Charles de Gaulle étoile. Then we changed onto line 2 and rode it till Pigalle. From there, we changed onto line 12 and got off at Abbesses.

*Tip: For Montmatre you are able to take a little car up to the top instead of taking the stairs. The ticket is the same as a metro ticket so, if you have happened to buy a ‘carnet’ of 10 tickets like we did then it’s perfect!

*Tip: If you know you will be using the metro a lot I suggest you purchase the ‘carnet’ of metro tickets. This is a packet of 10 tickets at the price of 14.50 euros; whereas, one metro ticket is 1.90 euros.

Now I have never in my life used metros, trams, and public buses before this year so, RER’s were new to me as well. One thing I had no clue about was that if you are outside of Paris; for example, Charles de Gaulle airport, the ticket for the RER B will cost more. Anytime you take the RER INTO Paris it will cost more but, those tickets can also be used for buses, trams, and metros once you are in Paris (but once you leave the metro you have to use another ticket to get back in).

For our first day together, we really didn’t get a chance to see much because my Grandmothers’ flight got delayed by 5 hours!!! Because of the half our day was lost. Plus ontop of that she was tired from traveling. But we still got a chance to see a little of Paris and it was great we got a view of teh Eiffel Tower from our hotel window.

Big Bus Tour:

This is one thing I would reccommend for those looking to have a relaxing day in Paris while still seeing the city. This tour allows you to hop-on and hop-off the bus at any stop so, if you have some sights you would rather see than others this is a perfect way!

Leave a Reply

